Artist Profile

Dene Michael

Artist Profile

United Kingdom

Dene Michael

Dene Michael is a singer who in 1986 joined the popular band Black Lace. Prior to Dene being added to the group, Black Lace represent the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1979 where the came 7th with their song “Mary Ann”. They then went onto release their most famous record “Agadoo” just before Dene joined, he however is often known by the name Mr. Agadoo.

As a solo artist, more recently Dene Michael auditioned for the fourth series of The Voice UK where sadly he didn’t get anyone to choose him for their team. He had previously lived and worked as a performer in Benidorm for 15 years with his new band “The Dene Michael Show”. He now has moved back to the UK in pursuit of more success as a solo artist.

Dene Michael | Find out more about this artist and others like them at

Eurojury is the flagship broadcast of Showcase, celebrating the music of the Eurovision Song Contest with juries of up to 180 entertainment industry professionals. Rob Lilley has hosted the televised event since the fourth edition in 2016, succeeding Josh Dubovie and Linda Martin during the show's time as a radio broadcast. Eurojury is known for producing an accurate simulation of the results likely to be seen at the Eurovision Song Contest in May and is often used by bookmakers and broadcasters as a guide and prediction of the grand final result.

United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest

The United Kingdom debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 and holds the record for the most consecutive appearances in the contest. To date the UK has won the contest a total of five times, with their first victory coming in 1967 and their latest in 1997. The UK holds the record for the most second place finishes in the contest, having been runner-up a total of 15 times. Since 2000 the UK has finished within the top 10 only twice, this being in 2002 with Jessica Garlick and in 2009 with Jade Ewen. | Find out more about this artist and others like them at

Related Artists

Matthew Ashton

Jenny Ryan

Sam and The Womp

Paul Potts

The Fizz

Ana Matronic

Lee Proud

Jai Ramage


Michael Rice

Michael Chakraverty

Jake Shakeshaft

Paul Chuckle

Daz Sampson

Rob King

John Matthews

Television Shows (featuring this artist)
Collections (featuring this artist)

Eurojury 2020: The Jurors

Emily Herbert